Skip to main content
Completion requirements



OCTOBER 2020: Use a Whiteboard in Google Meet

Immaculata University users may now use Jamboard via Google Meet.

  • At the bottom right, click "More" Customize and control Google Chrome 
  • Select "Whiteboard" 


  • To create a new Jamboard, click Start a new whiteboard . To open an existing Jamboard from your drive, shared drives, or computer, click  Choose from Drive



IMPORTANT NOTES
  • Please pay very careful attention to the sharing settings of the Jamboard files you create. 

  • By default, all meeting participants within the IU network who have logged into the meeting BEFORE a Jamboard is created will automatically be granted edit capabilities.
  • All other users who join the Google Meet session AFTER the Jamboard is created, or any user outside of the IU organization, will need to be granted the proper capabilities/access by the user who created the Jamboard (may be faculty or students).



SEPTEMBER 2020: Up to 49 Participants in Tile View

When you change the layout to the Tile View, you can now choose to view up to 49 participants at a time.

To change the number of participants you can view at a time, follow the steps below:

  • At the bottom right, click "More" Customize and control Google Chrome 
  • Select "Change layout"
  • Choose Tiled from the list of options:
    • Auto: The view that Meet chooses for you. By default, you’ll see 9 tiles on your screen.
    • Tiled: The view that can show up to 49 people at the same time. By default, you’ll see 16 tiles on your screen.
      • At the bottom of the window, move the slider to the number of tiles you want to see on your screen.
    • Spotlight: The active speaker or shared screen fills the entire window.
    • Sidebar: The main image is of the active speaker or shared screen. You’ll see thumbnails of additional participants on the side.
  • Towards the bottom of the menu, slide the slider all the way to the right. The default setting will be at 16 participants, and sliding it all the way to the right will stop it at 49 participants.


IMPORTANT NOTES
  • The number of participants you can see at any given time without it affecting your meeting experience will depend largely on your particular machine's processing capabilities and quality of broadband (Internet) connection. If you start to experience problems with the meeting after changing the number of participants you are able to view at once using the tile view, try reverting it back to the default settings. You may also want to use the Speedtest Tool within Moodle as well to check on the quality of your broadband connection.



SEPTEMBER 2020: New Controls for Meeting Organizers

There are two new controls only for meeting organizers:

  • Manage Who Can Send in-Meeting Chat Messages
  • Manage Who Can Share Their Screen

IMPORTANT NOTES
  • Along with adding these new capabilities, it is now very easy for faculty to identify whether or not they are the organizers for any course meetings that are not scheduled via the Google Calendar (Note: All Google Meet Course Meetings @ IU are scheduled via the "Nickname" Method, where each course's Moodle ID is used as the Google Meet Nickname).
  • To easily identify whether or not you are the organizer, simply look for the organizer controls icon at the lower left corner of the Google Meet user interface (it looks like a blue shield).

Manage who can share their screen

To control who can share their screen in a meeting, hosts can turn "Share their screen" on or off. By default, this setting will be on.

When "Share their screen" is on, participants will see the option to share their screen with all meeting participants.

When "Share their screen" is off:

    • Only the host can share their screen.
    • The option to "Present now" won't show for participants.

Hosts can turn "Share their screen" on or off from within meetings on the web. Hosts will not see the option to change this setting on mobile devices.

Manage who can send in-meeting chat messages

To control who can send chat messages in a meeting, hosts can turn "Send chat messages" on or off. By default, this setting will be on.

When "Send chat messages" is on, participants will see the option to send chat messages to meeting participants.

When "Send chat messages" is off:

    • Only the host can send chat messages, but participants will still be able to see messages sent by the host.
    • Messages sent when "Send chat messages" were on will still show in the chat history.

Hosts can turn "Send chat messages" on or off from within meetings on the web. Hosts will not see the option to change this setting on mobile devices.

If you're unable to turn the features on or off, it's possible that you have a Chrome extension for Meet which is preventing the features from working. To fix the issue, try turning your Meet Chrome extensions off.



AUGUST 2020: Block Google Meet participants from knocking again

We’re making two changes to “knocking” ( requesting to join a meeting) in Google Meet to reduce disruptions in education meetings.

First, if a meeting moderator rejects a knock twice from the same participant, the participant will be blocked from knocking again. This means the moderator won’t see any additional knocks from that user for the duration of the existing meeting.

Second, if the moderator ejects a participant, that participant will be unable to:

  • Rejoin the existing meeting (even if they are in-domain or on the calendar invite).
  • Knock to request rejoining the existing meeting.

IMPORTANT NOTES
  • Previously, when disruptive members were ejected from a meeting, they were able to continue disrupting the meeting by either re-joining or continuously knocking.
  • If the moderator mistakenly ejects a participant, they can still add that participant to the meeting by manually inviting them. They can use the  add person button in the people panel.


New Google Meet Features NOT Available to IU Users

You may have heard that Google, Microsoft, and other similar platforms have been releasing new features at unprecedented speed! However, please note that there may be features you've read about that may not apply to Immaculata University users.

Immaculata University users fall under the standard G Suite for Education license. This offers many great benefits over traditional free Google accounts, including unlimited cloud storage and expanded Google Meet capabilities. However, this license does not offer all the features and new rollouts you may have recently heard or read about (i.e., many features are reserved for Enterprise Licenses only). 

Some features that DO NOT apply to IU users include the following:

  • Official Breakout Rooms (Note: Since G Suite for Education allows users to participate in an unlimited number of Google Meet sessions simultaneously, this becomes a highly effective and flexible alternative solution.)
  • Attendance Reports
  • Uploading of Custom Backgrounds

Some key features that have temporarily been granted to IU users, but will soon be expiring include the following:

  • Live Streaming
  • Up to 250 participants (will revert to 100 max participants)
  • Unlimited storage of Meet recordings (will revert to 30-day storage. Other restrictions may be applied).


ADDITIONAL RESOURCES



Last modified: Sunday, 27 December 2020, 10:06 AM